DOs recognized with promotion, scholarships, advocacy awards and hall of fame induction

The osteopathic medical profession celebrates a new chair of orthopedic surgery, DO Day scholarship and award recipients and a DO’s induction into the Oklahoma Women’s Hall of Fame.


The osteopathic medical profession is constantly growing and making strides thanks to the many wonderful DOs and osteopathic medical students who excel in their roles. Following are some recent professional recognitions and accomplishments the profession is currently celebrating.

Adam Bitterman, DO, appointed chair of orthopedic surgery department

Dr. Bitterman, a board-certified orthopedic surgeon and assistant professor of orthopedic surgery at the Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell, was recently appointed as chair of the orthopedic surgery department at Huntington Hospital in Long Island, New York. Dr. Bitterman is a foot and ankle specialist, highly knowledgeable in difficulties regarding arthritis of the foot and ankle, deformity correction, Achilles’ tendon disorders and sports-related injuries to the ankle and foot.

“Dr. Bitterman has the experience, demeanor and dedication needed to lead Huntington Hospital through its growth as a premier destination for orthopedics,” said Nick Fitterman, MD, executive director of Huntington Hospital. “I am confident he will set a vision and strategy well-suited to support the orthopedic needs of residents in Huntington and Suffolk County.”

Few orthopedic surgery department chairs are DOs, and Dr. Bitterman’s department is one of the best in the country, according to U.S. News and World Report.

Kayse Shrum, DO, to be inducted into Oklahoma Women’s Hall of Fame

Dr. Shrum, president of Oklahoma State University, will be one of eight women selected by the Oklahoma Commission on the Status of Women to be inducted into the Oklahoma Women’s Hall of Fame. Dr. Shrum is the youngest and first woman president of OSU. Dr. Shrum attended the Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine and made a big impact helping form Oklahoma’s largest COVID diagnostics lab on OSU’s Stillwater campus.

Dr. Shrum will be honored at the induction ceremony on April 29 at the Omni Hotel and Resort in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, along with seven other women. This will lead to a total of 142 women who have been inducted into the Oklahoma Women’s Hall of Fame since it was established in 1982.

“We are honored to recognize these women with such a high honor for women of our great state,” said Victoria Woods, chair of the Oklahoma Commission on the Status of Women.

2 resident osteopathic physicians receive BEL DO Day scholarships

The AOA Bureau of Emerging Leaders has awarded scholarships to two resident osteopathic physicians, Tiffany Robak, DO and Andrew Collins, DO. The scholarships provided them an opportunity to attend DO Day on April 23-27 to advance their advocacy skills and meet with legislators.

Dr. Robak is an osteopathic family medicine resident with a passion for osteopathic medicine and a goal to see “true osteopathic integration in both inpatient and outpatient standards of care.”

Dr. Collins is a KYCOM alumni specializing in geriatrics who has been involved with multiple Kentucky state level congressional and gubernatorial campaigns. He is also a prior SGA president and a recipient of the James M. Lally DO Most Politically Active Student scholarship. This was his fifth time attending DO Day.

2022 AOA Advocacy Award winners announced during DO Day

During DO Day 2022, the AOA presented the following advocacy awards recognizing excellence in public policy and professional advocacy on behalf of the osteopathic profession. The awards were presented by AOA President Joseph A. Giaimo, DO, in Washington, DC, on April 26, 2022.

Individual Excellence in Advocacy: Courtney Merlo, OMS III, Janae Fry, DO, Katherine Gantz Pannel, DO and Kristopher Nicholoff, CEO and executive director of the Michigan Osteopathic Association

Organizational Excellence in Advocacy: Omega Beta Iota, Society of Specialty Executive Directors, Arizona Osteopathic Medical Association, Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons of California and Ohio Osteopathic Association

Excellence in Media Award: Jennifer N. Caudle, DO

Excellence in Journalism: Rose Raymond, AOA assistant director of content

Congressional Champions of Osteopathic Medicine: U.S. representative Kim Schrier, MD (D-Wash.), and Rep. Brad Wenstrup (R-Ohio)

Leave a comment Please see our comment policy