News in brief

AOA CEO Kevin Klauer, DO, EJD, FACEP, nominated for spot on prestigious Modern Healthcare list

From 150 nominees, the top 50 will be chosen as Modern Healthcare’s Most Influential Clinical Executives of 2021. Voting is now open to the public.

Three osteopathic physicians, including AOA CEO Kevin Klauer, DO, EJD, FACEP, are among 150 industry leaders nominated for a place on Modern Healthcare’s 50 Most Influential Clinical Executives of 2021. Voting began Monday and continues through April 13.

With its annual 50 Most Influential Clinical Executives recognition, Modern Healthcare honors individuals who are deemed by their peers and the senior editors of Modern Healthcare to be paving the way to better health through their executive responsibility, leadership qualities, innovation, community service and achievements inside and outside of their respective organizations.

The program allows members of the public to vote for their top choices.

Nominees will find out in late June if they have made the Top 50 when Modern Healthcare publishes the final list in its magazine. You can vote here.

Executive leadership

Dr. Klauer landed on the ballot in large part for successfully navigating the AOA through the pandemic and leading efforts to improve the safety of health care professionals on the front lines. Despite the financial challenges presented by COVID, the AOA increased member services and integrated a comprehensive physician wellness program into its member benefits.

Dr. Klauer has been CEO of the AOA since 2019. Previously, he served as chief medical officer for hospital-based services at TeamHealth. A nationally recognized speaker at industry conferences and events, Dr. Klauer also has served on numerous national committees dedicated to improving patient care and health care professionals’ quality of life.

Also on the ballot is Elissa Charbonneau, DO, who has served as chief medical officer of Encompass Health since 2015, and Omar B. Lateef, DO, CEO of the Rush University Medical Center and a professor in the Rush Medical College Department of Internal Medicine.

Vote here.

Leave a comment Please see our comment policy