Osteopathic Leadership

VCOM president named American Osteopathic Foundation president

Dixie Tooke-Rawlins, DO, began her one-year term on Jan. 1.


Dixie Tooke-Rawlins, DO, president and provost of the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM), was named the 2018 president of the American Osteopathic Foundation. She succeeds Peter Ajluni, DO, in the role.

Dr. Tooke-Rawlins is the founding dean of VCOM and a graduate of A. T. Still University Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine (ATSU-KCOM). She began her career as a practicing physician, specializing in emergency and family medicine, before joining academia full-time.

Dixie Tooke-Rawlins, DO

Her firsthand experience working with students and residents informed her view that grants and scholarships are vitally important for today’s medical trainees.

“Being elected president during this transformative time in our profession is exhilarating, as there are many opportunities for the AOF to provide leadership and direction to ensure sustainable, impactful programs that will have a lasting impact on the health of patients across the country,” Dr. Tooke-Rawlins said.

“I am a passionate advocate for osteopathic medical education because of our profession’s ability to increase access to medical care in rural areas and improve a community’s well-being,” she added.

Dr. Tooke-Rawlins’ prior leadership includes terms as president of the Virginia Osteopathic Medical Association (2016) and on the Board of Deans for the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (1998-2014), where she sits on its Council of Presidents. She is a longtime member of both the American Osteopathic Association and American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians. She was also appointed by the Governor of Virginia to serve on several task forces as well as on the Southwest Virginia Health Authority for the past 10 years.

Leave a comment Please see our comment policy