Winner’s circle

Awards presented to leaders and supporters of the profession

AOA recognizes achievements with presidential citations, STAR awards and medical writing awards during House of Delegates meeting.


It takes a village to raise a profession. On Saturday, the AOA recognized the accomplishments of those who help advance the osteopathic medical profession during an awards luncheon at the House of Delegates meeting.

AOA Presidential Citations

These citations, awarded by AOA President John W. Becher, DO, recognize supporters for their devotion to the osteopathic medical profession. This year’s recipients included:

  • Kenneth J. Veit, DO, the provost, senior vice president of academic affairs and dean at the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, for his dedication to patient care and his commitment to training the next generation of DOs.
  • Bruce D. Horton, DO, RPh, a board-certified osteopathic emergency physician for his efforts to advance the field of osteopathic emergency medicine.
  • William F. Ranieri, DO, an osteopathic board-certified psychiatrist, for evolving clinical education, training and practice in osteopathic psychiatry.
  • Lt. Gen. Ronald R. Blanck, DO, an osteopathic internal medicine physician, for the service that he has given to our country and the contributions he has made to advancing osteopathic medicine throughout the nation and the world.
Excellence in Health Journalism award winner Meehan Crist poses with 2016-17 AOA President Boyd R. Buser, DO.

Shining STARs

The Strategic Team Award and Recognition, known as “STAR,” recognizes contributions made by state and specialty affiliates, osteopathic medical schools and nonpractice affiliates that enhance the culture of osteopathic medicine. Award recipients included:

American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians: John C. Prestosh, DO, president; Christine F. Giesa, DO, president-elect; and Jan Wachtler, executive director.

New York Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine Educational Consortium: David L. Broder, DO, president; Lynn Mark, DO, director of accreditation; and Sharon Player, manager of communication and special projects.

Arizona Osteopathic Medical Association: Shannon Scott, DO, president; and Pete Wertheim, executive director.

Excellence in Health Journalism

This award recognizes journalists who are dedicated to helping Americans better understand their health and the delivery of health care; who cover timely health topics; and who interpret medical information in a manner that is understandable to the lay public. The recipient was:

  • Meehan Crist, writer-in-residence in biological sciences at Columbia University.

George W. Northup, DO, Medical Writing award

The 2016 award recognizes the article “Lymphatic Pump Treatment as an Adjunct to Antibiotics for Pneumonia in a Rat Model.” Lisa M. Hodge, PhD, is lead author of the article, which appeared in the May 2015 issue of the JAOA.

Leave a comment Please see our comment policy