OMED 2016

Shining stars of profession honored at OMED 2016

DOs were recognized for distinguished service, mentoring the next generation of osteopathic physicians and outstanding global mission work.


The AOA honored five DOs for exemplary service to the osteopathic medical profession on Saturday night at the OMED 2016 Opening General Session in Anaheim, California.

“These awards programs have always reinforced for me the impact our profession has on the lives of so many people,” Thomas Cavalieri, DO, told the crowd as he kicked off the awards presentation. Dr. Cavalieri, who serves as Dean of Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine, was a recipient last year of the AOA’s highest honor, the Distinguished Service Certificate.

Dr. Cavalieri was accompanied by co-presenter, Karen Nichols, DO, Dean of Midwestern University/Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine and fellow 2015 recipient of the Distinguished Service Certificate. “It’s truly an honor to recognize and introduce some of the most outstanding members of our profession,” she said. “These individuals clearly set the standard for the rest of us.”

This year’s winners:

Frederick E. White, DO, was awarded the AOA Distinguished Service Certificate for his dedication to osteopathic education, from mentoring osteopathic medical students and residents to advancing continuing medical education through nearly 40 years of dedicated service. Read more about Dr. White.

Joseph J. Kuchinski, DO, received the AOA Distinguished Service Certificate for many years of service and dedication in the areas of research and governmental affairs. He established and chaired the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians Governmental Affairs Committee, which assists in bringing national emergency medicine legislation to the forefront of the health policy arena. Read more about Dr. Kuchinski.

Clinton E. Adams, DO, retired Rear Admiral of the U.S. Navy, received the AOA Distinguished Service Certificate for more than 40 years of advocacy on behalf of the osteopathic medical profession. He is the current President of Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine and former Dean of Western University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific-Northwest. Read more about Dr. Adams.

Paula M. Crone, DO, is this year’s recipient of the AOA Mentor of the Year award, honoring DOs who help shape the future of the profession by sharing their knowledge, skills and distinct philosophy. “She has a way of getting people to spread their wings a little wider, smile a little brighter, learn a little deeper, and dream a little bigger,” according to one of the medical students who nominated Dr. Crone. She serves as Chief Academic Officer and Dean of Western University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific-Northwest. Read more about Dr. Crone.

Stanley E. Grogg, DO, was honored with the DOCARE Allaby Founders Award recognizing outstanding service to the organization and its principles. Dr. Grogg has led at least 20 Global Health Outreach trips to Nicaragua, Uganda, Guatemala, Belize, Mexico, Vietnam and India. Read more about Dr. Grogg.

One comment

  1. James Smith

    Drs John and Sylvia Ferretti should have been honored! They have the most successful medical school in the country! James Smith D O Wichita KS

Leave a comment Please see our comment policy