News in brief

Looking ahead: AOF honors future osteopathic leaders

The foundation will present leadership and research awards to osteopathic medical students during OMED 2016.

The American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF) will recognize the efforts of the future leaders of the osteopathic medical profession during its Honors 2016 reception at OMED 2016 in Anaheim, California.

“Effective leaders begin their journey in osteopathic medical school, where they begin learning and sharing their talents with others. These award recipients are already demonstrating their commitment in playing a role in the osteopathic medical profession’s continued growth,” says Larry A. Wickless, DO, the AOF’s president.

AOA Presidential Memorial Leadership Award

This award honors and recognizes an osteopathic medical student who is committed to the principles of osteopathic medicine and has demonstrated exceptional leadership. Jonathan Bardahl, OMS IV, of the Midwestern University/Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine in Downers Grove, Illinois, this year’s recipient, has published several research abstracts and gives his time to several organizations, including the Student Osteopathic Medical Association and the Illinois Osteopathic Medical Society.

Burnett Osteopathic Student Researcher Award

The Burnett Osteopathic Student Researcher Award recognizes an osteopathic medical student’s dedication to osteopathic-oriented research. This year’s winner, Eric Goldwaser, OMS III, of the Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine in Stratford, New Jersey, has published several research papers. He is particularly interested in neurodegenerative, neurocognitive, and neuropsychiatric disorders and diseases.

Karen J. Nichols, DO, LEAD Scholar Award

This award recognizes an osteopathic medical student whose leadership, excellence, achievement and dedication (LEAD) are proven in the classroom and community. This year’s award goes to Louisa Sethi, OMS IV, of the New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine in Old Westbury, in recognition of her leadership roles with the Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents, the American Osteopathic Association and the New York State Osteopathic Medical Society.

William G. Anderson, DO, Minority Scholarship

The William G. Anderson, DO, Minority Scholarship recognizes an outstanding minority osteopathic medical student who is committed to osteopathic principals and practice, has excelled academically, and has proven to be a leader in addressing the educational, societal, and health needs of minorities.

This year’s recipient, Chandra Jennings, MPH, OMS IV, of the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine—Carolinas Campus in Spartanburg, South Carolina, has extensive experience working in underserved communities.

Leave a comment Please see our comment policy