News in Brief

Federation of State Medical Boards elects DOs to leadership positions

Scott Steingard, DO, and Anna Hayden, DO, to serve on board of directors while Jone Geimer-Flanders, DO, will serve on committee.

The osteopathic medical profession was represented during the Federation of State Medical Boards’ (FSMB) recent annual meeting in San Diego.

During the meeting, FSMB’s House of Delegates elected Scott Steingard, DO, and Anna Hayden, DO, to its board of directors; and elected Jone Geimer-Flanders, DO, to the FSMB’s Nominating Committee.

FSMB represents the nation’s osteopathic and medical regulatory boards. The annual meeting brought together national experts to discuss key issues within medical licensure and discipline.

DOs who participated in the annual meeting include:

  • AOA President-elect Boyd R. Buser, DO, discussed innovations in medical and graduate medical education.
  • Joseph A. Zammuto, DO, the president of the Osteopathic Medical Board of California, gave opening remarks.
  • Humayun J. Chaudhry, DO, the president and CEO of FSMB, discussed FSMB services.
  • Eric R. Groce, DO, the president of the Colorado Medical Board, served on a panel about the legal and legislative challenges of the changing medical marijuana landscape.
  • Tyler Cymet, DO, the chief of clinical education for the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine, discussed trends in physician workforce.
  • Donald H. Polk, DO, the immediate past chair of FSMB, served as moderator for a panel providing updates on the interstate medical licensure compact.
  • John R. Gimpel, DO, the president and CEO of the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME), shared the latest developments from NBOME and the Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing Examination of the United States.

One comment

  1. Ian Smith

    Eliminate state osteopathic medical boards. Why do there need to be separate MD and DO boards. It’s ridiculous and marginalizes the profession as “other”. Enough of this

Leave a comment Please see our comment policy