Jameel Shareef, OMS IV; and Olivia Menardy, OMS IV; receive the Student of Merit awards.
News in Brief

‘I am the Dream’ event celebrates award winners’ service to others

PCOM honors students, faculty and alumni who seek to improve the lives of others during its annual awards ceremony.

The Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (PCOM) recognized students and faculty for making a positive impact on the lives of others during its annual “I am the Dream” awards ceremony on Feb. 26.

This year’s award recipients include:

  • Barbara Williams-Page, DO—Distinguished Alumni award.
  • Judith A. Lightfoot, DO—Martin Luther King Jr. Legacy award.
  • Yuma Tomes, PhD—Outstanding Faculty/Staff award.
  • J. Steven Blake, DO—William M. King, DO, award.
  • Olivia Menardy, OMS IV; Jameel Shareef, OMS IV; and Michael Stefanowicz, OMS IV—Student of Merit awards.
  • Israel Benjamin, OMS I—winner of the 2016 William M. King, DO, Endowed Minority Scholarship.

Benjamin is the inaugural recipient of this scholarship to support African-American osteopathic medical students from the Philadelphia area. The scholarship was established through funds given to the college by the William M. King Charitable Foundation.

1 comment

Leave a comment Please see our comment policy